Green’s Climate Action Bill backed to the hilt by Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Sinn Fein in the face of strong rural opposition

Only ten of the Dail’s TD’s – all Independents – voted against the Bill.

Sligo News File

Marc MacSharry TD…supported Green’s Climate Bill

Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Sinn Fein showed what they thought about the future of rural Ireland by voting en masse for the Green’s Climate Action and low Carbon Development Bill.

Despite being widely opposed by sectors of rural activity, most particularly the farming industry, the TD’s of the three parties nevertheless ignored this and elected overwhelmingly to sanction the controversial bill in a vote this week.

Marian Harkin, TD…supported Green’s Climate Bill

Of the Dail’s total membership, only ten, all Independents, stood up for the countryside. Earlier, the ten had staged a massive campaign of opposition to the measure, pointing again and again to the dangers it poses for rural life and generations to come. However, it all proved in vain in a Dail where it now appears that government and main political parties – shifting more and more to the left – are increasingly giving rural Ireland the cold shoulder.  

The Dail record names the ten Independent TD’s who voted against the Green’s  Climate Action and Low Carbon Development Bill as:
Sean Canney
Michael Collins

Michael Fitzmaurice
Danny Healy-Rae
Michael Healy-Rae
Mattie McGrath
Michael McNamara
Verona Murphy
Carol Nolan
Peader Tóibín

The following, according to the Dail record, all voted for the Green’s Bill:

Sligo –Leitrim:
Marc MacSharry – Fianna Fail
Marian Harkin – Independent
Frank Feighan – Fine Gael
Sinn Fein voted for the bill but Martin Kenny not named on Dail list.

Padraic MacLoclainn – Sinn Fein
Thomas Pringle – Independent
Charlie McConalogue – Fianna Fail
Sinn Fein voted for the bill but the name Pearse Dohery not shown on Dail list.

Dara Calleary – Fianna Fail
Alan Dillon – Fine Gael
Michael Ring – Fine Gael
Rose Conway-Walsh – Sinn Fein

Roscommon – Galway:
Denis Naughton -Independent
Claire Kerrane – Sinn Fein

Cavan – Monaghan
Matt Carthy – Sinn Fein