Sligo – Leitrim Fine Gael meet tonight to choose general election candidates

Four in the race for selection

Sligo News File Online

Fine Gael are meeting tonight to select members to contest the general election in the Sligo – Leitrim constituency. The four candidates include former TD and councillor Gerry Reynolds and Michael Comiskey, both Leitrim, and Sligo – based outgoing TDs Tony McLoughlin and  former minister of state, John Perry.

The selection convention is being held in the Mayflower, Drumshanbo, commencing at 8.30.

It is understood that the party proposes to select just two candidates, one from the Sligo – Donegal end of the constitency, the other from the Leitrim West – Cavan.

However, supporters of one of the candidates are reported to have disputed the rules governing convention voting rights. Party headquarters are said to have received a solicitor’s over the issue.