No detention facilities at Sligo Garda Station

Persons in custody have to be taken nearly 16 miles to Ballymote.

New Sligo garda station in ‘longer term.’

Sligo News File Online.

Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald has said that a new garda station will be built in Sligo “in the longer term.”

Minister for Justice Frances Fitzgerald. New garda station for Sligo 'in the longer term.'
Minister for Justice Frances Fitzgerald.
New garda station for Sligo ‘in the longer term.’

The Minister was responding to concerns about the state of the existing building which, it was pointed out, has been condemned as unfit for purpose in a report prepared by “independent engineers.”

She was told that a number of “significant fire, health, and safety issues had been identified.”

It was also indicated that that owing to the condition of prisoner facilities in the existing building, arrested or detained persons have to be transported almost 16 miles for remand in the South of the county, at Ballymote.

The Minister said she was aware of the risks and had been assured “local garda management and the Office of Public Works are working closely to address the issues.”

Both bodies were also working to identify how the station should be reconfigured. The works will involve refurbishment of the public office, custody management and welfare facilities for the station party.

“It is obviously important that the custody facilities meet standards that ensure the proper treatment of persons in custody,” she said.

Sligo Garda Station.
Sligo Garda Station.

She added that “in the longer term” a new station is to be built in Sligo as part of the Garda Síochána’s Building and Refurbishment Programme 2016 – 2021.”

The delay is seen as yet another body blow to the North West capital. A few weeks ago it was reported that 36 government officials are being relocated from Sligo to Dublin.

The local Dail deputies are Martin Kenny, Sinn Fein, Tony McLoughlin, Fine Gael, and Eamon Scanlon and MarcMacSharry, Fianna Fail. Fianna Fail are supporting the current Fine Gael-led Government.